EXCLUSIVE: KINGZKID

kingzkid.jpg

Kingzkid was born in Accra, Ghana on 29th September 1989. He successfully completed his first degree program In Banking and Finance at Central University College in Ghana in July 2012 and currently holds a Bachelor of Science in Banking and Finance degree.

Kingzkid found his love for music at a very tender age. He started singing, composing and doing rap music around 6th grade. He started singing in church at around 9 years old and has hence been doing music since then.” Mum says I used to make music with empty cans and tins when I was about 4 years old….Music has been with me for as long as my memory goes…My love for music is divine”. Upon entering into High school, He formed a group (Heavenly Psalmist). He discovered his true calling in his sophomore year in college (Central University College, Ghana) He released his first single “I depend on you” January 2011.At the young age of 24, He is considered a pioneer of Urban Gospel Music in Africa and was the first Ghanaian to introduce gospel music through different genres, such as Azonto, Pop and Electro Gospel Music. He is also known by his popular catch-phrase “YEAH BOIY”, which according to him means “Everything is possible to me”.

He released his debut Album “Vindicated” in September, 2011. The Album contains ten songs. He is considered as contemporary Gospel Music icon in Ghana. With his hit song titled,” I Got my Jesus On” released in May 2013, Kingzkid embarked on a tour dubbed “Jesus On Tour”. Its main aim was to create awareness of Jesus and to use it as a medium to encourage morality and integrity among the youth. He indeed is the fastest rising star from Ghana and has received a lot of backing from the most prominent Religious leaders across Ghana “My inspiration stems mainly from God, His word, my love for music and personal experiences and testimonies. The message of my music centers on God, His Grace, His love and the Sacrifice of His son Jesus Christ. My music also tends to inspire people to reach for more and to be Great…My style of music is eclectic. Not just limited to upbeat (azonto, pop, afro rhythms) or hip hop. I mostly write based on inspiration. So the music takes the form of the inspiration. By God’s Grace, I’m blessed with affluence in any style or genre of music”.

“My biggest prejudice will be why I choose to use my entire gift for God and Gospel music…Education and preparation is very essential. No matter how big your dreams are, get some education, at least in the field of your dreams. It adds an extra factor and opens doors…My music is eclectic, and as such reaches to a larger audience….”

Kingzkid recently released his sophomore album dubbed “Metamorphosis” on 21st February 2015. The album contains 15 songs spread across an array of genres, mainly hip hop, afro beat, pop music and R & B. “Metamorphosis is essentially driven on the premise that we all are work in progress. God is constantly working on us until we become that gold standard, that master piece. On this journey though, there may be a few setbacks and constraints, but we will rise above it at the end of the road”. The album contains songs like “Made by God”, “I Got My Jesus On”, ” He Go Do For You”, “Onaa Nyin” and ” None Like You” which features Cwesi Oteng and Joe Mettle, two of Ghana’s finest Gospel artistes.

Kingzkid has a number of accolades to his name. Kingzkid was nominated in the maiden edition of the Ghana Teen’s Choice Awards 2014. He was nominated in the category, Artiste of the Year. In 2014 Kingzkid’s song “I Got My Jesus On” won the Most Wanted Rap Song during the Christian Community Gospel Awards.  Kingzkid was also nominated in the Unsung Category of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA) 2015. Kingzkid also swept away the best collaboration award during the Jamming Jesus Awards 2015 with his song “I Got My Jesus On” which featured Regardless, one of Ghana’s best rappers. Kingzkid recently won the award for “Afro beat Artiste Of The Year” at the maiden edition of the British Council’s Gospel Explosion Music Media Awards (GXMMA, 2015).

Considered by many as one of the pacesetters of urban gospel music in Ghana, Kingzkid is set to continue to minister the word of God through his captivating tunes. Stay tuned and watch this space as we continue to keep you updated. Jesus Did it. TurnUp!!!

Leave a Reply

